Emotional Baggage

Over the school holidays I worked in a small team to make a local multiplayer party game for the first Make-A-Thing 2018. The concept is based off the card game spoons. A conveyor moves airport luggage around the level and the idea is to collect 4 of a kind before your friends do. We also put bombs in some of the bags to throw a wrench in the gears. If you’re clever, you can use the metal detectors to determine which bags are bombs. You can leave bombs on the conveyor or pick them up and use them to blow up your friend’s baggage cart!

emotionalbaggage.gif

It was a lot of fun concepting this game with everyone. We had quite a few ideas and I think it ended up being quite a nice little culmination of everyone’s ideas without getting too complicated or silly. I kinda project managed but it was really relaxed. I also put together most of the art, the menus and GUI, and helped with the conveyor, baggage and scoring functionality. Dylan, Dan, Troy and I came into school to work together at least 3 days of the 5. I even did some texturing with a graphics tablet I borrowed. I still prefer Blender over 3DS Max for modeling and texturing but I’m yet to give Maya a chance. I’ll do that next time.

 

Check out Emotional Baggage on itch.

Leave a comment